by pankyponk

Now that I’m sitting behind the screen of a computer I don’t have the sweaty palms and racing heart I would have had if I was talking out loud in class today, which is always a bonus. I’d like to put my two cents in on the introvert/extrovert group work discussion in class today now that I’m no longer petrified to raise my hand. Personally, group work is one of the most terrifying things I have ever had to do. Even trying to casually talk to the person next to me about the work we’re doing in class makes me want to curl up under the table. Groupwork is too heavily pushed in some classes, more so in year 11 by my experience, but it is still pushed in year 12. Some teachers simply don’t understand how uncomfortable it can make certain students, and I myself have been forced to sit with a group even though I have admitted it makes me highly anxious. However, not all teachers are like this, some do respect the fact that working by yourself can be a calmer, less headache-causing experience. I believe that group work should be OFFERED, but not MANDATORY.